ILOAF – Initiative for Logic and Foundations

Dov Gabbay Prize

The Dov Gabbay Prize for Logic and Foundations honours outstanding researchers active in Logic and Foundations, including Mathematical, Philosophical, and Computational Logic.

Dov Gabbay Prize for Logic and Foundations

Dov Gabbay The Dov Gabbay Prize for Logic and Foundations is an international research prize launched on the occasion of Professor Dov Gabbay's 77th birthday. This initiative honours the extraordinary and multi-faceted scientific and editorial work of Dov Gabbay, known in particular for editing an extensive collection of specialized Logic Handbooks.

Awards of 2023

ILOAF and the DGP Jury have the great pleasure to announce the winners of the first edition of the Dov Gabbay Prize for Logic and Foundations:

Dale Miller (Inria Saclay & LIX) and Mirek Truszczynski (University of Kentucky)

Our congratulations!

Statement of the Jury

The Dov Gabbay Prize was instituted in 2022 by the Initiative for Logic and Foundations ( on the occasion of Dov's 77th birthday. Its intent is to recognize outstanding inspirational contributions in logic and foundations across the interdisciplinary range of activities in Gabbay’s work over the years.

In response to a first call, the Jury of the Dov Gabbay Prize has received a wide and diverse range of strong nominations of high-profile excellent candidates, which resulted in extensive discussions. It was decided to focus in this first round on research in Computational Logic that reflects primary interests of Dov Gabbay.

The Jury is pleased to announce that the 2023 Dov Gabbay Prize is awarded jointly to Dale Miller and Mirek Truszczynski for their long-standing important contributions to the practice and theory of logic programming, theorem proving and related important strands in Computational Logic.

Dale Miller (Inria-Saclay and LIX/Ecole Polytechnique, France) has done pioneering and agenda-setting research bringing together and advancing logical proof theory and computational logic in the areas of higher-order logic programming and higher-order theorem proving. His research spans the full range from innovative foundational theory to the design and implementation of state-of-the-art working systems.

Mirek Truszczynski (University of Kentucky, USA) has done pioneering and agenda-setting research in logic programming, non-monotonic reasoning, answer-set programming, and preference in computational choice, where his seminal contributions are widely recognized. His research has succesfully run the gamut from mathematical foundations to industrial applications.

With the awards to follow in the years to come, the profile of the Gabbay Prize will be built up further: in particular, Philosophical Logic and Mathematical Logic will be in focus in succeeding years. Further information on these and other matters regarding the Prize will be found in the next calls for proposals.

Johan van Benthem, Christoph Benzmueller, Agata Ciabattoni, Laura Giordano, Hannes Leitgeb, Philip Welch (chair)

The Jury

The jury consists of six renowned logicians from relevant areas of Mathematics, Philosophy and Computer Science. For the 2023 edition it includes:


The next call for nominations will be announced here.

Past Calls


For any questions, you may send an email to:

Philip Welch (Jury chair) and Emil Weydert (ILOAF-coordinator)